Sign up for email & receive your FREE copy of our 

2017 Planning Guide!

We respect your email privacy

Free Museum Admission Days

Calendar of Free Days for 2017 & 2018

Many SF museums offer free admission to their facilities at least once a month. During these days, you gain access to each museum's permanent exhibits. Many will still charge an additional fee for any special exhibits.

While some museums offer a free day evey month, a handful of them offer free days just four to five times a year. These include the California Academy of Sciences and the Exploratorium.

Here is the general pattern of free days for each SF museum, in alphabetical order.

SF Museum Free Admission Days
Asian Art
Museum
First Sunday of every month
(sponsored by Target)
California Academy of Sciences

Once a quarter

Conservatory
of Flowers
First Tuesday of every month
Contemporary
Jewish Museum
First Tuesday of every month
de Young First Tuesday of every month
Exploratorium

Four to five times a year

GLBT First Wednesday of the month
(sponsored by the Bob Ross Foundation)
Legion of
Honor
First Tuesday of every month
Museum of Craft
and Design
First Tuesday of every month
SF Botanical
Gardens
Second Tuesday of every month,
as well as Thanksgiving, Christmas Day,
& New Year's Day
Yerba Buena
Center for the Arts
First Tuesday of every month

Month by Month Calendar of Free Days

To make it easier for you, I've also created a month by month calendar for all of the museums mentioned above. Either scroll down or click on these links to jump ahead to a specific month.

July 2017 August 2017 September 2017
October 2017 November 2017 December 2017
January 2018 February 2018  

More Top Events Each Month in SF

If you are looking for additional events to attend during your visit, check out my full monthly calendars. Click the link below for the month of your visit to learn more.

Event Calendars
January February March
April May June
July August September
October November December

Free Days by Month

July 2017

Date Museums with Free Admission
Sunday, July 2
  • Asian Art Museum
Wednesday, July 5
  • GLBT Museum
Tuesday, July 11
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park

Additional Discounts for Top SF Tours

  • 60-Minute Bay Cruise: Cruises around the bay, leaves from Fisherman's Wharf, several cruises a day, Full price $31, Goldstar price $15.50*

  • Cable Car Hop On/Hop Off Tour: Ride around SF on a cable car on wheels, hop on and off at up to 15 stops around town, Full price $30-$45, Goldstar $20-$30*

  • Sunset Cruise: 2-hour sunset cruise around the SF Bay, step aboard the Privateer, each ticket includes two drinks, offers spectacular views of the city of San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and more, Full price $60, Goldstar $45*

*Small service fee at checkout.

August 2017

Date Museums with Free Admission
Tuesday, August 1
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Wednesday, August 2
  • GLBT Museum
Sunday, August 6
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, August 8
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park

September 2017

Date Museums with Free Admission
Sunday, September 3
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, September 5
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Wednesday, September 6
  • GLBT Museum
Tuesday, September 12
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park
Saturday, September 23
  • Exploratorium
Sunday, September 24
  • California Academy of Sciences

October 2017

Date Museums with Free Admission
Sunday, October 1
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, October 3
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Wednesday, October 4
  • GLBT Museum
Tuesday, October 10
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park
Sunday, October 22
  • Exploratorium

November 2017

Date Museums with Free Admission
Wednesday, November 1
  • GLBT Museum
Sunday, November 5
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, November 7
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Tuesday, November 14
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park
Thursday, November 23
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park

December 2017

Date Museums with Free Admission
Sunday, December 3
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, December 5
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Wednesday, December 6
  • GLBT Museum
Tuesday, December 12
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park
Monday, December 25
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park

January 2018

Date Museums with Free Admission
Monday, January 1
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park
Tuesday, January 2
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Wednesday, January 3
  • GLBT Museum
Sunday, January 7
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, January 9
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park

February 2018

Date Museums with Free Admission
Sunday, February 4
  • Asian Art Museum
Tuesday, February 6
  • Conservatory of Flowers
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum
  • de Young Museum of Fine Arts
  • Legion of Honor
  • Museum of Craft & Design
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts
Wednesday, February 7
  • GLBT Museum
Tuesday, February 13
  • Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park

More on SF's Museums

Click the links below to learn more about each museum.

asian art museum
botanical gardens
chinese historical society
conservatory of flowers
Asian Art
Museum
Botanical
Gardens
Chinese Historical
Society
Conservatory of
Flowers
contemporary jewish museum
fine arts
art museum sf
museum craft and design
Contemporary
Jewish Museum
de Young Fine
Arts Museum
Legion
of Honor
Museum of
Craft & Design

More Great Museum Pages

art museums
maritime museum
sf museums exhibit
Top SF
Art Museums
Best History
Museums
Museum Exhibit
Calendar

> SF Museums > Free Museum Admission Days

New! Comments

Thanks for visiting! Do you have a question or comment about what you just read? Leave me a note below!

Back to the Top

SF ebook

Free 2017 SF 
Planning Guide!


Sign up for the SFTourismTips email 
& get your free guide today!

chinatown

walking tours

about the author

cheap and clean lodging

50 free things to do

north beach

fishermans wharf

murals in sf

pier 39

sf with kids

wine tours

theater calendar

Contact | Home